January reflection + February goals

img_0216

 

This month marked our third month of living in Berlin.  We have sublet from two apartments already, found out that we will be moving to Hamburg at the beginning of March, and then on to New York City within the coming year.  Exciting and challenging times lie ahead for us.  Adam and I both look forward to settling down somewhere and making a home, even if it is for only half of a year.

This month we’ve been doing all sorts of touristy things (see photo above) before we leave.  Left on my Berlin list are basically food-related things.  If my will is strong (which I think it is), then I’ll see that I get them done before March.

As we’re heading into the month of February, I’d like to pause and reflect on my January goals.  Like many others who makes New Year’s Resolutions, mine started off strong but are now fizzling out a bit.

 

I read an article the other day from Forbes that talks about the 7 secrets of people who keep their New Year’s Resolutions.  One of them is remembering that something is better than nothing.  I’m choosing to have this mindset when looking back on January.  I feel good that I made wise resolutions that will make me a better person and help me grow.  I feel good that I scheduled out a time for most of them, and journaled about them.  That I tried and made some accomplishments.

For February, I am making a promise to myself that I won’t be too hard on myself and if I slip up, I will keep going.  I’ll be choosing three of the total goals I had set for January and see if this makes a difference in how I can accomplish them.

For January, I tried setting out with fifteen goals.

Yes, fifteen.

I guess I got carried away.

 

 

February goals:

My goals for February focus on taking care of myself.  I want to increase my energy levels and appreciate “me” time through my morning routine.  I want to be at my best so I can help others be at their best.

1. Drink six bottles of water a day (from my stainless steel 1/2 liter bottle)

2. Wake up at 5:30am and go through my daily morning routine (workout, reading + notes, gratitude, prayer/meditation, visualizations, affirmations)

3. Write at least 15 minutes a day on my blog and follow through with deadlines I’ve given myself.

 

 

Do you make resolutions?  How do you set yourself up for success?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “January reflection + February goals

  1. I’ll write about my february goals on my blog tomorrow. They have to change from what I had in mind though as I’m on sick leave for 3 weeks. So February will focus on self-care, much like you! Funny how we have so many things in common while our lives are so different! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

